Collection: Buddhism

Buddhism is one of the world's largest religions and originated 2,500 years ago in India. They believe that human life is one of suffering, and that meditation, spiritual and physical labor, and good behavior are the ways to achieve enlightenment, or nirvana.

They don't acknowledge a supreme god or deity. Instead they focus on achieving enlightenment—a state of inner peace and wisdom. 

They are expected to follow the five precepts which are

1. Not to take the life of any living being

2. Not to take what is not given

3. Not to take part in sexual misconduct

4. Not to speak falsely

5. Not to take drugs that cloud the mind

The Dhammapada is the scripture that contains the teachings and sayings of Buddha

The basis of Buddha’s teachings are the Four Noble Truths:

Dukka—all creatures suffer; (Do-ka)

Samudaya—suffering is caused by selfish desires; (Sam-oo-dyer)

Nirodha—suffering can be ended; (Ni-Road-a)

Magga—the way to end suffering is the Eightfold Path. (Mag-a)